Media wrong about Paul Revere, Palin right.

(Added 6/8 :  Palin’s rambling sentence was obviously not a technical report on the “night of Paul Revere’s ride” more an unfocused summary of Paul Revere’s world. It’s all there. As to the objection that He did not warn the British;)

Here is the night of Paul Revere’s ride in his own words;

…I observed a wood at a small distance and made for that. When I got there, out started six officers on horseback and ordered me to dismount. One of them, who appeared to have the command, examined me, where I came from and what my name was. I told him. He asked me if I was an express. I answered in the affirmative. He demanded what time I left Boston. I told him, and added that their troops had catched aground in passing the river, and that there would be five hundred Americans there in a short time, for I had alarmed the country all the way up. He immediately rode towards those who stopped us, when all five of them came down upon a full gallop. One of them, whom I afterwards found to be a Major Mitchel, of the 5th Regiment, clapped his pistol to my head, called me by name and told me he was going to ask me some questions, and if I did not give him true answers, he would blow my brains out. He then asked me similar questions to those above. He then ordered me to mount my horse, after searching me for arms. He then ordered them to advance and to lead me in front. When we got to the road, they turned down towards Lexington. When we had all got about one mile, the major rode up to the officer who was leading me and told him to give me to the sergeant. As soon as he took me, the major ordered him, if I attempted to run, or anybody insulted them, to blow my brains out.  (History.net)

I’m sure Palin wishes she had taken a moment to think through her meandering sentence – been there.  But clearly Revere, and others, set in motion the warning bells and call to arms to end any British hopes that the colonies would lay down their arms. Revere showed real courage that night, not afraid to defy the British in what was certain to be a long dangerous fight.

Let me guess, the media geniuses (public schooled I presume?)  based their criticism of Palin  on the rhyme by Longfellow thinking it was a historical account. Brilliant.

6 responses to “Media wrong about Paul Revere, Palin right.

  1. No, they didn’t base their criticism on Longfellow’s poem. They based it on historical fact. Also, the excerpt you posted says nothing of Revere sounding bells or warning shots, so I’m not sure why you used that as evidence to support Palin’s outrageously misinformed ramble.

    • It was a terrible ramble, no question. And a word-picture disaster. But the stupidity of attacking on the basis of what… Revere’s life consisted of one act in one famous night? Give me a break. How about using all the facts then. I get the feeling that Palin has more knowledge of the period than all the media swarm. You know very well it’s just a pile-on out of hatred for a public figure.

      • How is it that you think Palin has more knowledge than historical scholars? She was wrong. Revere rode in secret and there was no “warning” the Brits of anything!

        I’ll say you’re right, that the media loves to hate Palin. I get tired of hearing about how she’s messing up all the time because we have bigger issues to deal with. I’m paying attention to this story because I happen to be a history scholar. Palin was just wrong about her facts. It’s okay that she was wrong. I give wrong information sometimes, too, when I’m put on the spot. But I also own up when I’ve made a mistake.

        Palin clearly doesn’t know a whole lot about American history, but neither do most people. I’m thinking it would have been okay if she had just admitted that.

      • Val, I appreciate your spirit about this and I’m not really interested in defending Palin. The real issue is the media.
        Are Palins comments poorly crafted and unfocused? Yes.
        Do her comments indicate that she is ignorant of the life and times of Paul Revere? No.

      • “Do her comments indicate that she is ignorant of the life and times of Paul Revere? No.”

        Mark! Yes they do! She was completely, 100% wrong! She spoke no facts, and even though the popularized history of Revere was wrong, she messed that up too! She was just wrong, and that’s all there is too it. Not one single thing she said about Revere was even close to being correct. And that thing you posted above about Revere’s account of being captured? That doesn’t even have anything to do with any of this!

        I just can’t argue with you on this any more. You insist on claiming that 2+2=7. All you have to do is a simple Wikipedia search to find out about Paul Revere’s ride and see that Palin was incorrect in her information. It will take you two seconds. I’m a history scholar, not a moron.

Leave a Reply

